Coming up on Saturday at the Described Movies: Star Wars- Episode VII - The Force Awakens, and The War of the worlds.

Only on Mushroom escape:
From this Saturday at 12am Eastern, that’s 4pm Saturday in NZ, 2pm in Sydney and 5am in the UK, and repeated every four hours throughout the day, it’s the described movies Star Wars- Episode VII - The Force Awakens 2015, and The War of the worlds from 1953.
Star Wars: The Force Awakens (also known as Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens) is a 2015 American epic space opera film co-produced, co-written, and directed by J. J. Abrams.
The sequel to Return of the Jedi (1983), it is the seventh film in the " Skywalker Saga".
Set thirty years after Return of the Jedi, The Force Awakens follows Rey, Finn, Poe Dameron, and Han Solo 's search for Luke Skywalker and their fight in the Resistance, led by General Leia Organa and veterans of the Rebel Alliance, against Kylo Ren and the First Order, a successor to the Galactic Empire.
Work on a seventh entry in the "Skywalker Saga" commenced after the Walt Disney Company's acquisition of Lucasfilm in 2012.
The film is the first Star Wars film to not extensively involve franchise creator George Lucas, who only served as a creative consultant in the early stages of production.
The Force Awakens was produced by Abrams, his longtime collaborator Bryan Burk, and Lucasfilm president Kathleen Kennedy.
Abrams and Lawrence Kasdan, co-writer of the original trilogy films The Empire Strikes Back (1980) and Return of the Jedi, rewrote an initial script by Michael Arndt.
John Williams, composer for the previous films, returned to compose the score.
Principal photography began in April 2014 and concluded the following November.
Filming took place on sets at Pinewood Studios in England, and on location mainly in Abu Dhabi, Iceland, and Ireland.
On a budget of $447 million, it is the most expensive film ever made.
It was positively received by critics, who found it an action-packed film with the mix of new and familiar actors capturing the nostalgia of the original trilogy and giving the franchise new energy.
The film grossed $2.07 billion worldwide, breaking various box office records and becoming the highest-grossing film in the United States and Canada, the highest-grossing film of 2015, and the third highest-grossing film at the time of its release.
It was nominated for five awards at the 88th Academy Awards and received numerous other accolades.
The film was followed by The Last Jedi (2017) and The Rise of Skywalker (2019), rounding out the Star Wars sequel trilogy.
Directed by: J. J. Abrams.
Written by: Lawrence Kasdan, J. J. Abrams, and Michael Arndt.
Based on: Characters by George Lucas.
Produced by: Kathleen Kennedy, J. J. Abrams, and Bryan Burk.
Starring: Harrison Ford, Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew, and Max von Sydow.
Cinematography: Dan Mindel.
Edited by: Mary Jo Markey, and Maryann Brandon.
Music by: John Williams.
Production Companies: Lucasfilm Ltd., and Bad Robot.
Distributed by: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures.
Release dates: 14 December 2015 (Hollywood, Los Angeles), and 18 December 2015 (United States).
File Length: 138 minutes.
Country: United States.
Language: English.
Budget: $447 million.
Box office: $2.071 billion.
The War of the Worlds (also known in promotional material as H. G. Wells' The War of the Worlds) is a 1953 American science fiction thriller film directed by Byron Haskin, produced by George Pal, and starring Gene Barry and Ann Robinson.
It is the first of several feature film adaptations of H. G. Wells' 1898 novel of the same name.
The setting is changed from Victorian era England to 1953 Southern California.
In the film, Earth is suddenly invaded by Martians, and American scientist Doctor Clayton Forrester searches for any weakness to stop them.
The War of the Worlds won the Academy Award for Best Visual Effects and went on to influence other science fiction films.
In 2011, it was selected for preservation in the National Film Registry by the United States Library of Congress, who deemed it "culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant".
Directed by: Byron Haskin.
Screenplay by: Barré Lyndon.
Based on: The War of the Worlds by H. G. Wells.
Produced by: George Pal.
Starring: Gene Barry, and Ann Robinson.
Cinematography: George Barnes.
Edited by: Everett Douglas.
Music by: Leith Stevens.
Distributed by: Paramount Pictures.
Release dates: 3 April 1953 (London), and 13 August 1953 (New York).
File Length: 82 minutes.
Country: United States.
Language: English.
Budget: $2 million.
Box office: $2 million (US rentals).
Any questions, comments, or ideas for future described movies: e-mail me: anthony at mushroomfm dot com (e-mail address written that way to cut down on
Enjoy the movies.